Disaster Food Stamp Assistance - Must apply on or before June 16

posted over 3 years ago by Rebeccaw from Neosho/Newton County Flood Recovery Info
This update is over 30 days old.

http://www.dss.mo.gov/fsd/pdf/disaster-Food-Stamp-one-time-benefit.pdf Following White House approval of Governor Eric Greitens’ request for a federal disaster declaration, the Missouri Department of Social Services received authorization from the United States Department of Agriculture to operate a Disaster Food Stamp Program in 27 counties across the state. This program will provide food assistance to Missouri families who were directly impacted by the recent flooding. Who is eligible? Families receiving Food Stamp benefits and families typically not qualified for the program may be eligible to receive the Disaster Food Stamp benefit if they have suffered property damage, loss of income, relocation, or loss of food due to the recent flood.  Must live in the counties affected (listed below)  May be eligible whether or not you currently receive Food Stamp benefits How are benefits determined?  The amount of the Disaster Food Stamp one-time benefit is based on the maximum monthly Food Stamp benefit for the family size  After applying, eligible families currently receiving Food Stamp benefits will have food benefits increased to the maximum amount for that month How do I apply? The Family Support Division (FSD) will only be able to accept these applications during the week of June 12-16.  Families already receiving Food Stamp benefits: o Submit a “Disaster Food Stamp” form found at http://dss.mo.gov/fsd/formsmanual/pdf/affidavitdisaster-loss.pdf o Application must be postmarked by June 16  Families not currently on the Food Stamp Program: o Apply in person at a Family Support Division Resource Center o Must bring a photo ID or two other documents like utility bills or mail received to verify identity If a family is eligible, FSD will issue benefits within three days after receiving their application What counties are included in the Disaster Food Stamp program? Residents impacted by the flood in the following counties may apply for Disaster Food Stamp assistance: Bollinger, Butler, Carter, Douglas, Dunklin, Franklin, Gasconade, Howell, Jasper, Jefferson, Madison, Maries, McDonald, Newton, Oregon, Osage, Ozark, Pemiscot, Phelps, Pulaski, Reynolds, Ripley, Shannon, St. Louis, Stone, Taney, and Texas counties FSD Resource Centers will have additional staff on-hand to assist with Disaster Food Stamp applications. Additional Information  FSD Information Center: 1-855-FSD-INFO (1-855-373-4636)  Online: http://dss.mo.gov/recovery-information.htm  Additional Flood Recovery Resources: https://recovery.mo.gov/


No comments yet.

Post a new comment

News by topic

Other recent news